You are here : Home > I Want To > View City History


City of Lafayette History

The City of Lafayette was established in 1843.  The Private Acts Charter was adopted in 1945.  The Government Body is made up with a Mayor and Six Council Members.  The first Mayor was elected in 1945.  The Mayor and council members are elected for 4-year terms.

Lafayette is the county seat of Macon County.  To view our departments and services, click on the tabs at the top of the home page for additional information.


Click for facts about Lafayette and Macon County